NIWA (National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd) is offering a boat trip to the whānau/Trustees to discuss, amongst other things, special areas of interest to Te Ātiawa, in preparation to support a potential mutual, cultural mapping project in the first half of 2022. NIWA has offered: • When: Mon 24/Tues 25 May 2021 • What: Opportunity to take up to three people (12 in total over the two days) per voyage – 2 voyages per day. Potentially up to 2-3 hours per voyage. Please note there will be three trained NIWA staff onboard. • Where: Kura te Au/Tōtaranui – agreed sites of importance or significance to Te Ātiawa. Time is tight and NIWA needs to know if we have anyone interested in joining them. If anyone is interested, they should contact Shappy (Ian Shapcott) by the 18th of May and let him know their availability / timing. (Shappy’s contact details: Ph: 03 573 5170 or 0800 284 292 and

Te Ātiawa Rohe

Rohe Map

Figure 1: Te Ātiawa resource management rohe
within Te Tau Ihu.

Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Trust is the iwi mandated organisation that represents those Te Ātiawa people who whakapapa to Te Tau Ihu.

For the purpose of resource management, Te Tau Ihu is divided into 3 principal rohe as explained in figure

1.  Manawhenua Ki Mohua (office information ») 2 & 3. Te Ātiawa Marlborough (office information »)

Issues, applications or developments that fall within these rohe are sometimes dealt with by separate agencies while the Kaitiaki o Te Taiao Office (based in Waikawa) provides planning advice to all these agencies.

Manawhenua Ki Mohua (shown as Area 1 in Figure 1) – Phone (03) 528 6061, Onetahua Marae. Manawhenua Ki Mohua is an iwi mandated organisation representing Ngati Tama, Ngati Rārua and Te Ātiawa within the area defined as the Golden Bay catchment and Kahurangi National Park area (i.e. Western side of Takaka Hill). 

Te Ātiawa Head Office (shown as Areas 2 and 3 of Figure 1) – Phone (03) 573 5170, Te Atiawa Trust Office Waikawa Marina. Te Ātiawa Marlborough office is mandated with the areas described as: the Marlborough Regional Authority boundary; the Kaikoura District Council boundary; the Nelson Regional Authority boundary; and, the portion of the Tasman Regional Authority boundary east of the Takaka ranges. (Sylvie Heard, Ian Shapcott & Daren Horne - Rohe Management Team)

As a matter of process, all queries regarding policy input, resource consents, and/or cultural matters should be directed to the relevant area office of Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Trust.