Te Ātiawa Rohe

Rohe Map

Figure 1: Te Ātiawa resource management rohe
within Te Tau Ihu.

Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Trust is the iwi mandated organisation that represents those Te Ātiawa people who whakapapa to Te Tau Ihu.

For the purpose of resource management, Te Tau Ihu is divided into 3 principal rohe as explained in figure

1.  Manawhenua Ki Mohua (office information ») 2 & 3. Te Ātiawa Marlborough (office information »)

Issues, applications or developments that fall within these rohe are sometimes dealt with by separate agencies while the Kaitiaki o Te Taiao Office (based in Waikawa) provides planning advice to all these agencies.

Manawhenua Ki Mohua (shown as Area 1 in Figure 1) – Phone (03) 528 6061, Onetahua Marae. Manawhenua Ki Mohua is an iwi mandated organisation representing Ngati Tama, Ngati Rārua and Te Ātiawa within the area defined as the Golden Bay catchment and Kahurangi National Park area (i.e. Western side of Takaka Hill). 

Te Ātiawa Head Office (shown as Areas 2 and 3 of Figure 1) – Phone (03) 573 5170, Te Atiawa Trust Office Waikawa Marina. Te Ātiawa Marlborough office is mandated with the areas described as: the Marlborough Regional Authority boundary; the Kaikoura District Council boundary; the Nelson Regional Authority boundary; and, the portion of the Tasman Regional Authority boundary east of the Takaka ranges. (Sylvie Heard, Ian Shapcott & Daren Horne - Rohe Management Team)

As a matter of process, all queries regarding policy input, resource consents, and/or cultural matters should be directed to the relevant area office of Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui Trust.